General Religious Studies

Questions?

TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)

General Religious Studies

Databases (Find Articles and Reports)

⚖️ The trial includes access to all Brill ebooks & ejournals. Let us know what you think about this trial. Access ends 12/31.

Brill is an academic publisher with specialties in humanities and social sciences.

Search with your keyword at the left under Refine Search > All. A green icon next to a title will indicate full text access.
Non-UWest patrons: Alternative access.

ATLA Digital Library

The items found in the Atla Digital Library are of importance to those with an interest in researching, studying, teaching, and otherwise searching for historical and archival content in religion and theology.

ATLA Research in Ministry (RIM)

Research in Ministry is a thesis and dissertation abstract database. Users can search graduate works related to ministry, theology and religion.

Association of Religious Data Archives

Data and reports on religion around the world.

Bibliography of the Study of Religion

Consuming Religion

"What are you drawn to like, to watch, or even to binge? What are you free to consume, and what do you become through consumption? These questions of desire and value, Kathryn Lofton argues, are questions for the study of religion."

Discovering Sacred Texts

Discovering Sacred Texts provides access to the richness and diversity of the texts from some of the world’s greatest faiths. Discover more about the sacred texts from Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism and the Baha’i Faith, Jainism and Zoroastrianism.

Gale Biography in Context

Get biographical information about religious figures. Includes the latest full text newspaper, journal articles, pictures, and multimedia files.

Google Scholar @ UWest

Select items at the resource for UWest patrons only.

Use the power of Google to search for books, articles, and online resources. Access via UWest to incorporate our full text database resources.

👩‍🏫 Short 5 min. tutorial on accessing library resources with Google Scholar: PDF, Video. If you encounter an error such as "ERROR for site owner: Invalid domain for site key" or any of the other functions/features of Google Scholar, then use the personalized Google Scholar setup instead.

Non-Uwest patrons: Alternative access.

Index Theologicus

"...a comprehensive bibliography for theology and religious studies. It is now possible to search not only for articles, but also for monographs, databases and relevant Internet links."

JSTOR (Collection I-VII)

Contains articles from journals such as The Journal of the American Academy of Religion, the Journal of Religion, and History of Religions.

PhilPapers

"PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers."

ProQuest Religion

This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.

ProQuest Research Library (All ProQuest)

Indexes more than 2,500 magazine and journals on art, business, humanities, health, social sciences, and sciences. Interfaces available for many languages. Includes all ProQuest databases: ABI/Inform Collection, ProQuest Research Library, ProQuest Religion, ProQuest Psychology Journals, ProQuest PsycTests, PsycARTICLES, and Dissertation/Thesis Abstracts.

Religion & Ethics Weekly

A weekly TV news program delving into issues of religion and ethics.

Religion & Public Life from Pew Research Center

Pew Research Center provides survey datasets and articles on the topic of religion and public life all around the world.

World Religions Today

Databases (Find Images)

British Museum Collection

Shared Shelf Commons

"Discover images from libraries, archives, and museums around the world."

Reference (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Bibliographies)

Database of Religious History

"...the world’s first comprehensive online quantitative and qualitative encyclopedia of religious cultural history." Select the 'browse' link to begin your search.

Encyclopedia of Monasticism

Encyclopedia of Religion

This is the online version of the second edition of this highly regarded encyclopedia (physical version also available: http://uwest.worldcat.org/oclc/56057973). Comes with searchable full text entries, with information intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987. Includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles.

Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy

A scholarly and refereed encyclopedia hosted by The University of Tennessee at Martin.

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

A scholarly and refereed encyclopedia hosted by Stanford University.